Sailing very close to the wind!

This week I bought a “sail Canopy” from the web to try as  a sun  screen in my garden.

I was going to have it between the posts of my pergola.

I have often thought of putting one in my garden designs.

I am glad that I have tried it out first.

The material was far too flimsy.

The attachments and ropes were inadequate.

It was not a strong structure.

I am going to return it.

If you do think of putting one in your garden here are some guidelines.

Purchase one from a well known sail manufacturer.

The material will be strong.

Fittings must be able to take tensile strength.

Pergolas are not a good anchor point.

A house wall probably would be.

These are not quick  solutions for shade in the garden.

Leave a Reply

