Respecting your garden designer.

Over the last few weeks I have had a sad case when the client failed to see the” worth ” of the work I had done for him.

This was 15 hours of work.

It included   three visits including,  client brief survey and presentation.

At home I researched new ideas in hard landscaping to design a modern garden.

I contacted three well known supplies for new materials.

Then I asked a friend with a super interior/exterior design business if he could suggest new outdoor furniture and fittings.

Of course I spent some time designing the garden and drawing a 3D projection. 

This was a new build, so I visited the Sales House to make sure that I was on the right track.

Planting was included  , as was the provision of lighting and a water feature.

Many other desireable structures were included.

You might think” what a super garden. I would like that”.

 After an initial small deposit the client  assured me that” yes” he would keep to the terms and conditions and keep up the payments.

Sadly this was not the case.

All he did was to demand more and more work that had not been detailed in the contract.

In his opinion he had” not had much of worth”.

I beseech prospective clients to look at the website.

Read the small print. Take note of the costs. Assess the nature of the work.

But above all try to treat your Garden Designer with respect!

 

 

Leave a Reply

